Winter Beauty Favorites

Here in Atlanta, it’s not quite winter yet according to the temperature I am feeling. We have caught a couple of glimpses but have yet to see it in full swing. I truly hate being cold but I love winter fashion and all things that come with it, so I decided to share some of my favorites and tips to maximizing your winter season! Enjoy!

Lips

IMG_2974

 

EOS Chap-stick: $3.50 – Of course there are other brands, and it is your preference but I love this formula! Go grab yourself one and give it a try! With it being cold and windy outside, it is key to keep your lips hydrated.

LORAC Alter Ego Lipstick: $16 – I was just recently turned onto this and I love it. The shade that I have is ‘CEO’ and it is perfect. If you are looking for a darker pink for the winter this dusty rose shade is for you. This lipstick goes on so smooth and it stays!

the Balm Meet Matt(e) Hughes Liquid Lipstick: $17 – I received a sample of this in an Ipsy bag and I am slightly obsessed. I received the shade ‘committed’ and it is perfect. It is a lighter pink and is the absolute perfect shade! The formula is to die for. It goes on so smooth and dries quickly but doesn’t leave your lips feeling crusty and dry. Everyone needs this!

Lip Exfoliate: $16 to $3 – I have attached the tarte lip exfoliate that I have heard great things about but the one that I have is from elf cosmetics which is only $3! Also, there are many recipes online for homemade ones that barely cost anything since you probably already have the ingredients!

Vaseline: This stuff works wonder on so many things, but if you have chapped lips or skin, rub this on before you go to sleep and it works wonders!

Hair 

IMG_2980

Hairspray: I use Aussie hairspray for hold when I style my hair or I spray it on a hair brush and brush it through when I straighten. I also use Bed Head ‘workaholic’.

Batiste Dry shampoo: $8 – This is one of the top rated dry shampoos and I can agree that it is great. When it gets cold outside it feels like your hair starts to get dry and damaged even more, in my opinion. Dry shampoo is key. Great for all seasons and all days when you don’t have time or energy to wash your hair.

Oil: – I just recently started using hair oils this past year and they are so worth it. I can see such a difference when I use it and when I don’t. There are so many different kinds so you might have to go through some trail and error before you find the perfect one for your hair type, (great excuse to sign up for birchbox or ipsy). I love Moroccan oils, Argan oils, Keratin oils and Coconut oils! Wash your hair, comb it out and run a small amount of oil through your hair before you dry it to add shine, help with frizz and give nourishment to your hair!

Drying spray: – There are so many different brands out there that are all great but again, you need to find the right one for you. I use Miss Universe by CHI and I found it at TJ Maxx and I love it. Garnier and Not Your Mother’s also make some great blow dry sprays.

Face & Body 

IMG_2982

Hempz Body Lotion: $23, bought on sale for $14 at TJ Maxx – I love this lotion! It smells great and there are so many added benefits for your skin. It is a larger bottle but it goes a long way. My other favorite body lotion is from Bath & Body Works and it is the Eucalyptus Spearmint Stress Relief Body Lotion for $13. This stuff is amazing. It smells incredible and the second you put it on, you can feel it tingle and it is just relaxing.

EOS Hand Lotion: $2 – This is a great hand lotion for your purse to keep your hands moisturized in the cold, windy weather!

CeraVe Foaming Facial Wash: $13 – I have recently been trying different face washes to find the perfect one for me and I was told about this one over Thanksgiving and I love it. It is a larger bottle and it goes a long way. This formula is amazing and really helped me with some breakout issues I was having.

CeraVe Moisturizing Lotion: $15 – This lotion is the perfect pair for the face wash listed above. Once again, it is a larger bottle and I often find myself using just about the size of a pea and it covering my whole face, neck and chest. It is extremely moisturizing and doesn’t leave an oily residue.

Equate Make Up Remover Towelettes: $6 for 60 – These are by far my favorite make up wipes. My face loves me when I use them and hates me when I don’t. First off, these are so reasonably priced and often are sold in packs of two. They are quilted and extremely soft. The wipe itself goes a long way and can get all of your make up off with one wipe.

Make Up 

IMG_2983IMG_2986IMG_2989

e.l.f. Make Up Setting Spray: $3 – I have been using this setting spray for a long time and it has never let me down. When I apply my foundation I spray this on my brush before applying and I feel that it really helps to keep my skin moisturized. Obviously, if you are going out and you’re going to be dancing and sweating, then maybe go for a more heavy-duty setting spray. This formula is great and still gets the job done.

Becca x Jaclyn Hill Shimmering Highlighter, Champagne Pop: $38 – I know this stuff isn’t cheap but it is so worth it. This highlighter is the perfect shade for all skin tones and it isn’t too harsh.

L’ORÉAL Lumi Light Infusing Primer: $13 – I use this primer almost every time that I do my make up. It is so sheer and light that it doesn’t add another thick layer of make up. Such a great product!

Maybelline Lash Sensation Mascara: $8 – This is my go-to mascara. I have been using it for months and it is perfect for me. It isn’t too clumpy and the brush is perfect. It has small rubber bristles on it that allow it to easily move through my lashes and coat them perfectly without clumping them together.

NYX Wonder Stick: $12 – If you are new to the contouring world then this product will be perfect for you. It has a highlighting stick and a contour stick. Just add it to the areas that you like and blend it out with a small stipple brush or a beauty blender sponge. This is easy and looks great! I also can’t go wrong with my Antastasia Contour Kit It is expensive but if you are into the contour and do it often, this is a great investment.

Make Up Palettes: I am too obsessed with getting new palettes. My favorites right now are the Smashbox #shapematters Palette, the Morphe 35Oand the Naked 3. I just received the Smashbox palette for Christmas and I am still playing with it but it is beautiful. It comes with everything you need for your brows, contour and highlighting powders, eye shadows and an amazing brush! This palette is going for $55 and totally worth it for everything that you are getting. It is also great for when you travel to cut down on the amount of individual products you have to bring. The Morphe 35O palette is currently out of stock but they will most likely restock, hopefully, because of it’s popularity. The colors in this palette are perfect! I saw Jaclyn Hill raving about so of course I bought it because anything she loves, I love. This palette retails for $22 and you get so many shadows! Lastly, my other favorite palette is a classic – the Naked 3. The colors in this palette are to dye for and perfect for any occasion. From your everyday office look to a night out, this palette has what you need. If you can’t tell I love palettes and I look for any excuse to buy them.

NYX Waterproof Eye Shadow Primer: $7 – This primer is something that I just recently started using but it seems to be working great. It isn’t hard to get off with a make up wipe even though it is waterproof. It holds your shadows in place and ensures that they don’t go anywhere!

e.l.f HD Lifting Concealer, Fair: $3 – This is an amazing concealer! I feel like a lot of people often overlook e.l.f cosmetics because of the price and the stores that it is sold in, but this is actually a great brand with a lot of great products! This concealer has great coverage and is also hydrating but doesn’t leave creases! If you need a thicker, more concealing concealer to cover tough blemishes then my go-to is Benefit Boi-ing Concealer, this is $20 but once you try it you will understand exactly why I love it so much!

Maybelline Gel Liner: $10 – You won’t catch me wearing any other eyeliner anymore. This stuff goes on so smooth and it stays like it is waterproof and smudge-proof! You need this in your life!

Maybelline BB Cream: $8 – This is the foundation I use almost all year round for simple looks because it is so sheer and hydrating. I have been using it for years and I love it!

 

I know that this was a lengthy post but I hope you all enjoyed my winter beauty favorites!

Comment below with any of your winter beauty favorites!

With love and hopes of inspiration,

Carly

 

 

One thought on “Winter Beauty Favorites

Leave a Reply

