My First Two Weeks At My Dream Internship

Now that I am a month into my internship, I figured it was about time I posted on my first two weeks in the office! Recently I was offered an internship with Modern Luxury in their Atlanta-based office; I am literally living out my dream. I am one of the fall editorial interns and I spend my time fact checking articles and re; all while helping with anything else they need. It’s crazy though because I almost didn’t apply. I was so down on myself after not getting the other internships that I had applied for and I was sure that I just wasn’t good enough. Well, one night I sat down and decided just to go for it. I perfected my resume, wrote a cover letter and finished the rest of the application process. When I got the email asking me to come in for an interview, I was too excited for my own good. I went out and bought three new outfits to choose from for my upcoming interview.

The night before my interview I tried on multiple options before picking the winner.

IMG_2848.JPG

I seriously love this outfit so much. I paired this turtle neck crop top from Dress Up, with my favorite skirt from Target and my all time favorite stilettos from Target. To add to the outfit, I accessorized with my favorite oversized sunnies from Free People, my usual Alex & Ani bangles, some gold and large jewel earrings from Dress Up and my Kate Spade gold watch.

IMG_2853.JPG

After finding out that I had landed my dream internship, it was time to celebrate with friends!

I got this dress from Urban Outfitters on sale, along with the shoes which are slip-on’s with a wooden, chunky heel! Accessorized with my Cole Haan mini tote and, Free People oversized sunnies and my Alex & Ani bangles.

IMG_2899.JPG

On my first day, I wore a collared maroon dress with pockets from Dress Up that I bought during their back to school sale for $19, so it was too good to pass up! I couldn’t get enough of my shoes that I got from Urban Outfitters on sale so I brought them out for my first day at the office. I found my Michael Kors purse that I had bought myself as a graduation present, 3 years ago, and couldn’t help but bring it out! Of course, I paired the outfit with my Alex & Ani bangles, my Free People over-sized sunnies, my gold Kate Spade watch and a coffee mug that was covered in books and magazines, how fitting!

IMG_2921.JPG

On my second day in the office, I brought out my favorite skirt from Target again, with a structured short sleeve top from Ann Taylor and my new chunky black booties from Urban Outfitters that I have been dying to get for months now. I paired the outfit with my Apple Watch, my Warby Parker glasses, and of course my Alex & Ani bangles.

Thursday rolled around and it was time for my first work party, a mixer for the Top 20 Most Eligible for JEZEBEL Magazine at Dive Bar in Buckhead.

 Since I started my internship a little earlier than the other fall interns, I was lucky enough to meet and make friends with some of the summer interns. So graciously they invited me to come along with them and enjoy the party. The mixer was a blast! With a Hollywood theme and all of Atlanta’s most eligible in the house, this evening was one that I’ll always remember as kicking off my internship with ML!

IMG_2947.JPG

I wore a lace dress from Free People that I had bought at the beginning of the summer and since then it has sat in my closet, begging to be worn. I paired the dress with my favorite black stilettos from Target, my Kate Spade watch, Alex & Ani bangles and a Cole Haan wristlet.

IMG_2957.JPG

For my first Friday in the office, I went a little casual. I put on some ridiculously comfortable black skinnies from TJ Maxx, my favorite new black booties from Urban Outfitters (they’re so comfortable, I swear I could run in these) and a new burnt orange top from Urban Outfitters. Of course, I paired the outfit with my oversized FP sunnies, my gold Kate Spade watch, my A&A bangles and some Urban Outfitters hoop earrings that I found in the sale section.

IMG_3035.JPG

After the start to my second week in the office, my family came down to Atlanta for a dinner before we had to send my baby brother back to college for his junior year!

I finally got around to rocking the natural hair because, after a tiring weekend, I just needed those extra moments of sleep on a Monday morning! I wore one of my favorite Free People dresses and my fav fringe, wooden heels from Free People!

IMG_3061.JPG

 For my second day of my second week, I wore a J. Crew skirt that’s been sitting in my closet for way too long, a white Piko shirt, and BCBG nude stilettos. Paired with my usual A&A bangles, my Apple Watch, and a gold, feather necklace.

IMG_3111

To finish out week two, I wore a beige t-shirt dress that I bought from a local boutique, a Free People lace slip and my new lace up wooden heels. I accessorized with my Apple Watch, my Alex & Ani bangles (not pictured) and my double strand necklace from Urban Outfitters.

FullSizeRender-1.jpg

If my intern days here are going to consist of me sitting at this white desk, looking out of the glass windows that surround me to a view of the city, while drinking coffee and fact checking the magazines – I think I’ll do just fine.

IMG_2922.JPG

It’s safe to say – I think I’m going to like it here.

Leave a Reply

